Kinderdijk is a small village at a distance of only 16 kilometers of Rotterdam and a little bit less than 10 kilometers from the cityborder of the oldest city in Holland, Dordrecht. Never the less is the village unique for it 19 windmills dating from the 1500s.Kinderdijk is the only place in the world where you can find so many windmills concentrated on such a short area. This is one of the reason why Kinderdijk has been added tot the UNESCO world heritage list.The Kinderdijk milling complex consists of 8 stone brick windmills of the waterboard Nederwaard which were built in 1738, 8 thatched windmills of the waterboard Overwaard built in 1740, 2 stone windmills of the polder Nieuw-Lekkerland built in 1760 and 1 windmill of the polder Blokweer which was built in 1521 and burned down in 1997. Since that day the windmill has been restaured and has been operational since the spring of 2000.
Museum Island and the River Spree in Berlin
coffee bar in an Art Nouveau Municipal House. Prague, Czech Republic
The town is situated on a small island at the southern entrance to the Lagoon of Venice about 25 kilometres (16 miles) south of Venice.
The most ancient documents naming Chioggia dates from the 6th century AD, when it was part of theByzantine Empire.
Chioggia is a miniature version of Venice, with a few canals, chief among them the Canale Vena, and the characteristic narrow streets known as calli. Chioggia has several medieval churches, much reworked in the period of its greatest prosperity in the 16th and 17th centuries.
Fishing is historically the livelihood of the port, and remains a significant economic sector.
Galleria Alberto Sordi, until 2003 Galleria Colonna, is a shopping arcade in Rome named after the actor Alberto Sordi. The Gallery is situated at the centre of Campo Marzio, in front of the column of Marcus Aurelius, facing the square from where it is possible to admire prestigious architectures of the modern Rome, and in particular the 16th century palace which belonged to Agostino Chigi during the 17th century. Today the Galleria in Piazza Colonna is one of the most renowned and charming places in the city, both due to its central location, as well as due to is prestigious architectural design, without excluding the myth which has always veiled this place. The fine and complex restoration, carried out by the Lamaro Group, which took 3 years and was completed in 2003, returned the complex to its former splendour and vitality, expertly preserving the building’s historical and architectural value and combining it with the necessary innovation and functionality.
Trastevere name comes from the Latin trans Tiberim, meaning literally “beyond the Tiber”. Trastevere maintains its character thanks to its narrow cobbled streets lined by medieval houses. The neighborhood has traditionally attracted artists, so it’s possible to find unique gifts in its boutiques and studios. The center of public life in the neigbhorhood is the Piazza di Santa Maria in Trastevere, a large square outside of the church of Santa Maria in Trastevere. Also on the square is an ancient octagonal fountain that was restored by Carlo Fontana in the 17th century. Other attractions in Trastevere include the church of Santa Cecilia in Trastevere, which contains some notable medieval as well as Baroque works of art, the Museo di Roma in Trastevere, which houses interesting archives of Roman civic life from the 18th and 19th centuries and, in Piazza Trilussa, the statue of Giuseppe Gioacchino Belli, a poet who penned his works in the Roman dialect and who is particularly loved in Trastevere.
The Palazzo Pianetti or Pianetti Tesei is a Rococo palace in the town of Jesi, Italy. Presently, it is owned by the town, and the palace and its adjacent building are used as a museum and exhibition site. The Palace as now seen, was built in 1730, based on designs of Cardolo Maria Pianetti.
The long-term exhibition The City of K. Franz Kafka and Prague was opened in Prague in during the summer of 2005. Franz Kafka was born in Prague on 3July 1883, died in a sanatorium at Kierling on 3June 1924, and was buried in the New Jewish Cemetery in Prague – Strašnice on 11 June. The exhibition opened in Barcelona in 1999, in 2002–2003 it transferred to the Jewish Museum in New York, and in 2005 it opened in Prague, in the unique Hergetova cihelna [the Herget Brickworks] on the Malá Strana [Lesser Town] bank of the river Vltava [the Moldau]. The exhibition consists of two sections – Existential space and Imaginary Topography.